Online Adult SEL Series Shares Practices to Respond vs. React

Online Adult SEL Series Shares Practices to Respond vs. React

Written by Knellee Bisram

At the culmination of the second cohort of the virtual Adult SEL series, participants share their plans to live more mindfully, take better care of themselves and to be more empathetic and compassionate to others.

All shared how much the tools and practices they learned have been impactful in facing the pandemic as well as increasing their capacity to respond versus react to any life situation.

Stacy Caceres from Egret Lake Elementary Afterschool shares a quote by Jon Kabat-Zinn – Mindfulness is a way of befriending ourselves and our experience, and said “I always put others first and do what needs to be done for the good of the group.  This course has helped me to stop and take notice of how to help and better myself and that it is necessary.  I feel this quote encompasses that.”

Christiam Jimenez from Lantana Elementary Afterschool shares “I am learning to be patient… these practices really help me as a father and as a mentor for the students.”